Sally Potter's THE PARTY is the winner of the Audience Award of the Sparkasse Dortmund

The Party, Regie: Sally Potter

After the last ballot papers had been counted, the winner was announced: Sally Potter's bitingly satirical social comedy THE PARTY was the clear favourite with this year's audience. At the awards ceremony on Sunday evening at the Dortmunder U, the film was declared the winner of the Audience Award, which was sponsored by the Sparkasse Dortmund.

Endowed with € 1,000, the award was presented by Tanja Frommert (head of Private Banking at Sparkasse Dortmund). Unable to accept the award in person, Sally Potter thanked the audience for their support and enthusiasm in a video message.

Synopsis: THE PARTY is an explosion of sharp-tongued dialogue. Hostess Janet (Kristin Scott Thomas) has just been appointed shadow cabinet minister and wants to celebrate. In two rooms, the kitchen and bathroom, a social comedy unfolds that spares nobody with its wit and brilliantly brings to light the nervous tension that lies beneath the cultivated surface of the liberal left. With Patricia Clarkson, Bruno Ganz, Emily Mortimer, etc.

THE PARTY opened the 30th edition of the Dortmund Women's Film Festival last Tuesday (4.4.2017) and received a rousing response from the audience. The film was launched in German cinemas on 27 July by the distributors WELTKINO. THE PARTY also received a special mention from the jury of the International Feature Film Competition for Women Directors.

In its statement, the jury explained: "The fast-paced dialogues are highly intelligent and hilariously funny. The film brings together a group of actors who turn the film script into a real-life scenario which is masterfully shot and edited into a dense social satire. As an audience, we follow this black humour with growing relish. Sally Potter has excelled herself once again with a new cinematic experiment in terms of script and directing. The film intelligently challenges our perception of relationships and allows us to reconsider stereotypes by making fun of them."

This year's jury members included Dutch actress and screenwriter writer Marnie Blok, director of Taiwan's Women Make Waves Festival Pecha Lo and film editor and script advisor Gesa Marten.

Previous article