As of 2012, the winners of the Directors of Photography Competition will be announced in Cologne

Award ceremony 2011: Daniela Knapp (Jury), Maria Goinda, Hanne Klaas, Eva Maschke, Sophie Maintigneux (Jury)

The National Competition for Women Directors of Photography, which has been held at the Dortmund festival location since 2001, is moving permanently to Cologne – in time for the next edition of the festival.

For many years, the presentation and recognition of the work of (next generation) directors of photography has been a major concern of the International Women's Film Festival. Whereas cinematography used to be a part of a degree programme at the Dortmund University of Applied Sciences, it has now regrouped at the International Film School, based in Cologne, and the Academy of Media Studies, also in Cologne. Traditionally, the International Women's Film Festival has always enjoyed close links with these two places of higher education and has thus taken the logical step of moving the National Competition for Women Directors of Photography to the Cologne location. Endowed with a purse of 5,000 EUR, the prestigious award will therefore be conferred every two years in Cologne, following deliberations by a jury consisting of renowned women directors of photography. Eligible to take part in the competition are women cinematographers – either by way of their graduation piece or a film shot within two years of completing their studies. The competition is open to all genres and lengths.

Previous article