National Competition for Women Directors of Photography

Jenny Lou Ziegel, Christiane Schmidt, Julia Hönemann, Sophie Maintigneux, Katharina Dießner
© Guido Schiefer

Cinematographer, camera technician, director of photography – three terms for the one person who uses her camera as a tool to transfer on to substrate material what takes place in motion or presents itself statically before the lens.

The Dortmund | Cologne International Women's Film Festival has opted for an award aimed squarely at picture designers. For working with a camera and with light is not just a image recording routine but an active co-design process which demands interaction with the other jobs of set decor, costumes, make-up and location management. Even the actual decision as to specific film material, the use of filters or a special digital technique can substantially influence the final look of a film. Close-up size, image section, camera position and camera movement are all essential factors for the narrative discourse.

It is in this way that, following consultation between the director of photograph and the film director, the moving pictures can take on the quality of a narrative instance their own right.

The National Directors of Photography Award is endowed with prize money of  €5,000.

We accept films of all lengths and genres (diploma films and films of the first two years after completion of studies) made by women Directors of Photography who live and work in Germany respectively finished their studies in Germany.

Previous award winners:
2014: Christiane Schmidt THE FOREST IS LIKE THE MOUNTAINS & Bine Jankowski REBECCA
2011: Eva Maschke FRAUENZIMMER & Hanne Klaas OLE
2009: Marlen Schlawin BADETAG & Susanne Kurz 1,2,3 & Anne Misselwitz DER DIE DAS
2007: Ute Freund Du hast gesagt, dass du mich liebst
2005: Bernadette Paassen In den Schubladen
2003: Janne Busse Klassenfahrt
2001: Jutta Pohlmann England